RSS

A Tribute to Jeremy

22 Apr
Jeremy is on the far left, 2nd row from the top

Jeremy is on the far left, 2nd row from the top

On the way to school, driving happily with dad, a car crashed into them killing Jeremy instantly – he was nine years old.

His name was Jeremy Cohen and I’ve never forgotten him.

I never use real names in my blog, but sometimes it is necessary. This is my tribute to him and he deserves to be named – and remembered.

I kept my school photo’s for years, decades even, and then quite sadly after all that time managed to lose the lot in my last move. I wish that they still existed so that I could put a face to this story, but hope springs eternal – perhaps someone out there has one. I hooked up to my primary schools web site and not only was there no mention of him,but no pictures I could find to commemorate him .

He was in my class but we weren’t really good friends. He was a boy, I was a little girl and ne’er the twain shall meet – so to speak. As a member of the ponytail club it was our sole job to tease and torment the boys.

Jeremy was a strange looking little thing. He had a crazy mop of hair and big teeth and even then looked like a mini Einstein. He wasn’t particularily popular. He didn’t have that rugby playing build evident in the young tigers of the time, he wasn’t always approachable like the other boys. But what Jeremy had that none of us could hope to reach was genius.

This kid was brilliant.

Now I know as we become parents we all like to think that our little darlings are unique and clever, but this kid REALLY was. We would study and if we worked hard enough we would scrape an A for our tests. Jeremy would hit 97 percent aggragate for the entire term! I remember a conversation where he was upset that he had only got 98% and not 100% and the teacher at that time had said that they couldn’t give him 100% – that just wasn’t done??????? I can’t remember exactly what reason the teacher gave at the time, but I DO remember thinking that while they were looking for marks for the rest of us to improve our exams, they were searching Jeremy’s papers for mistakes!

The idea that everything happens for a reason doesn’t really sit well with me when talking of the death of a child – who the hell cares. When the young and innocent die it is always an unquantifiable tragedy. With Jeremy it was more so.

With that kind of intelligence he could quite literally have changed the world!

The morning of the accident he was driving in a small red mini with his dad. They were already at the school, crossing the last small road when out of nowhere a car came down the road and crashed into his side of the vehicle. It was a one-way and this man was travelling down the road the wrong way. I remember the stories that came out at the time where he had said that he couldn’t see because the sun was in his eyes! I also remember the other rumours that he was in fact drunk at the time and that quite frankly made more sense. Surely if he had been sober he would have realised his error and not have travelled all the way down the road, or quite frankly not have been there in the first place.

Like so many tragedies this one was completely avoidable. This wasn’t a car skidding on a wet road, brakes failing or anything similiar. This was a man who did wrong and killed a small genius through his negligence.

I never did hear the official report, but frankly it wouldn’t have made a difference. We were devastated. He was our classmate, one of us, he was OUR Einstein. To make it worse the car sat outside the school for days, on the corner where it had landed. A little red car of death. I remember standing inside the school gates and just staring at it, unable to accept the horror that had taken place.

I’ve often mourned not only for him but for his father. His pain must have been unimaginable. As far as I know he walked away without injury, but his boy died right next to him.

I don’t know what happened to the idiot that killed Jeremy – I have tried to look for info over the years but found nothing. I know that the world has seen many tragedies since then, but this one has stayed with me personally. Every child deserves to live, but every genius deserves the opportunity to change the world. He was only given 9 years!

I doubt his family will ever read this blog, I wish they could. I want them to know that although words can’t bring their precious son back, memories can ensure he never really leaves. He has not dissappeared, forgotten and lost – He is remembered for always as a precious and impossibly talented child and will always be missed.

Rest in Peace Little friend xx

(Thank you to ‘Lainey’ for finding this photo for me to use)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2013 in Strings of Sentences

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “A Tribute to Jeremy

  1. Rebecca Carney - One Woman's Perspective

    April 24, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    I hope his family sees your blog. Every bereaved parent wants to know that others remember his or her child. It doesn’t matter whether it’s twenty days after the death…or twenty years…it MATTERS that the child who is forever in the parent’s heart and who is forever sorely missed every day is not forgotten.

     
    • theforestscribe

      April 25, 2013 at 6:20 pm

      Thank you for your encouragement. I have a plan in place to try and hook up with them – I still have a tenuous connection to try. Busy reading your blog at the moment xxxx

       
  2. derek gallacher

    April 23, 2013 at 7:49 am

    I remember a similar story when l was about ten and climbing trees for chestnuts.the smallest in our group,l’ve forgotten his name,was messing about on one of our bikes,much too big for him and stumbled in front of a bus and was decapitated.l fell out of the tree,and the memory remains.no counseling in those days.

     
    • theforestscribe

      April 23, 2013 at 8:06 am

      That’s horrific! Truly I don’t think any amount of counseling would have made the slightest impact after seeing something like that at such a tender age.

       
  3. Natasha

    April 22, 2013 at 7:16 am

    You have mentioned Jeremy to me before. A very sweet and kind blog Mom. I hope this does find its way to Jeremy’s father x

     

Leave a Reply

 
dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Healing Your Heart!

A manual for the life within!

scottishmomus

What I See

And The Moon Sees All

Lisa Marino: A Mind Wide Open

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Fiction Writing Blog

Night Blogging

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

GlobalPatching

A fine WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

