RSS

Mr Sour Grapes and the Journey of Words

25 May

I’ve been thinking about my blog and the reason for it’s existence-as I see it anyway.

It’s always so interesting to me that the reasons for starting something seldom have anything to do with the reasons for continuing.
I think it’s probable that our connectivity as people is the ‘changing factor’.

I began writing about my life initially to share my adoption story and soon splashed out into the decidedly mad existence I have led. Although one is connected with the other it has also grown another arm-it’s somehow managed to connect with others just like me.

So many of us out there are struggling to stand firm, pushing against the weight of our upbringings, our understanding, weaknesses and ignorance.

What began as a need to express myself has become in many ways a small window to look through for those as foolish and lost as I was and occasionally still am.

I was confronted recently by one of my bosses who proclaimed my blogging useless and on par with tweeting garbage into the ether. He said a lot more but since it was all pretty much in the same vein it’s not worth repeating. One good thing that did however come out of ‘Mr Sour Grapes’ opinion is that it forced me to look closer at what I really wanted to achieve.

Ultimately most bloggers want to leave their often mediocre jobs to make a living out of writing – but that said, we will write anyway! As a writer, once the words begin to appear in your mind you become restless and imprisoned until they are set free.

As a slave to the craft I feel the same, but as a person starting out, I feel the call to begin another journey – one to find MY particular voice.

I am slowly discovering new passions and bigger ideas than ever before and the more I write the more confidence I gain.

So ‘Mr Sour Grapes’, as you cling desperately to your utter mediocrity I will continue with my journey of discovery, I will exercise my talent and at the end of my days, come what may, I will be able to say that I gave this life and this passion, my all.

And I can live with that!

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2013 in Strings of Sentences

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Mr Sour Grapes and the Journey of Words

  1. Tetraplegic Bhoy

    June 8, 2013 at 10:20 am

    We spoke about this on one of my posts. My reasons for starting to blog are still valid but I have more relevant reasons to continue, reasons I could not have foreseen.

    Glad you haven’t let an uneducated opinion beat you down, I’m guessing that would have been his ideal outcome.

    I know it’s a bit of a cliche but if you ‘stay true to yourself’ then your writing will always be honest and you can treat Mr Sour Grapes’ opinion with the disdain it deserves.

     
    • theforestscribe

      June 10, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      Thank you for your encouragement, although the idiot did slow me down, his remarks caused me to question what I really wanted from my writing. All’s well that ends well.
      Second time I’m typing this-having problems with wordpress, comments dissappearing! aargh!

       
  2. MARK WHELAN'S LITERARY BLOG

    May 26, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Mr Sour Grapes may have had a valid point somewhere along his criticism of blogging and bloggers, but since we have no idea of it, we’re unable to opine. It’s been said many times that blogging is essentially a huge ego trip for vain people, something along the lines of vanity publishing. It is also an easily accessible channel for hack journalists (somehow the term journalist does not apply to them, but anyway), not really in search of truth, but rather a quick muck about to get their words published, no matter how unethically it came about, or how false and sensationalist it is.

    There are many negatives to blogging. Computer geeks and spammers prey on the lonely and less intelligent in order to reap a quick buck. The most dismaying thing I’ve noticed about blogging in general, as it applies to the social media network, is that people have a lot to say about others in the negative sense, rather than just approaching them politely in person and saying ” I just don’t like what you just did.”

    But, there are so many positives to blogging that quickly override the bad. A Christian brother suggested that he would use social media for the greater good. Thousands of people, no matter what religion or culture do just that.

    But could the most important reason for blogging, as in writing, be, write first and foremost for yourself?

    I think the Forest Scribe already knows that. She’s doing it already.

     
    • theforestscribe

      May 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm

      Every medium allows for abuse sadly and there nothing to be done about that. My own experience thus far has been a connection to people that have a sincere need to express themselves. ‘Vanity publishing’ is a term I personally find offensive as not everyone writes well but everyone has the right to!

       
      • MARK WHELAN'S LITERARY BLOG

        May 27, 2013 at 1:21 pm

        I too, find the term offensive, and yet it exists, however, we are assured that we write because we want to – this said without any further explanation.

         
      • theforestscribe

        June 3, 2013 at 5:17 am

        Well said!

         
  3. Susan Donald

    May 26, 2013 at 11:06 am

    Mr Sour Grapes can probably not even write a grocery order! Keep going Beth, you are a talented writer!

    Sent from my iPhone

     
  4. derek gallacher

    May 25, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    I like the idea of setting words free,if l was looking for a critique on my writing l wouldn’t choose any sneering halfwit in the pub nor should you pay heed to someone who would only admire wealth or position as a yardstick of his esteem.He also sounds like a misogynist so would not compliment you under any circumstance,writing is not so much a gift but a need. l have to write to feel whole and so obviously do you,don’t be diverted by anyone.

     
    • theforestscribe

      May 25, 2013 at 10:39 pm

      Thanks Uncle D! I don’t mind being critiqued, but I don’t even know if he’s ever read the blog-his comments were simply based on his opinions of blogging and his desire to cause insecurity. I’ll keep going until I find my voice and then I’ll publish – easy! Gulp!

       
  5. Susan Donald

    May 25, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    We all want to be loved and wonder why we were not, binned , looking for where we come from Andy darling Beth you have taught all of us about life and I love you. Xxxx

    Sent from my iPhone

     
    • theforestscribe

      May 25, 2013 at 10:41 pm

      Thank you Susie D! There are truck loads to come! Xxxx and just so you know your love and support have worked wonders and are absolutely reciprocated!

       

Leave a Reply

 
dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Healing Your Heart!

A manual for the life within!

scottishmomus

What I See

And The Moon Sees All

Lisa Marino: A Mind Wide Open

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Fiction Writing Blog

Night Blogging

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

GlobalPatching

A fine WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

