RSS

Oh Dear, I Don’t Seem to Exist!

11 Jul
The Ghosts of Africa

The Ghosts of Africa

I recently applied for an unabridged copy of my birth certificate in the unlikely event that I would one day find a way to have my Scottish heritage restored to me and mine.

After 6 months of waiting and calling to see when it would be ready I was sent an sms from the department of Home affairs to tell me that I had to come in and complete the Late Registration forms…… ummm, say what?

Years back when I applied for an ID book I also had to wait months until they eventually contacted me and said I didn’t exist but they were going to issue me an ID Number so that I could get my book….. excuse me, is that even legal ????

So this is what I think I know about myself:

I was given up for adoption by my Scottish mother, but the only consent paper I’ve seen was not signed by her…

I was adopted by a family that doesn’t seem to have registered me …

I am not 44 because I only began existing a few years ago when I was issued an ID number that probably belongs to someone else’s dead chihuahua….

I am almost South African and almost Scottish…..

Sweden is nice at this time of year isn’t it, maybe I’ll call them and ask if they have a spare identity lying around…..

I’d probably get it in the post with a nice sticker book…..and a bottle of peroxide for my chestnut curls…

Can I cry now………..please?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in Adoption Journey

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Oh Dear, I Don’t Seem to Exist!

  1. scottishmomus

    July 11, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    You may weep profusely, with my blessing. On the plus side, you can be as young as you want!x

     
    • theforestscribe

      July 11, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      thank you sweet mum, but afraid I can’t choose my age since my wrinkles and grey hair have beaten me to the fence!

       
      • scottishmomus

        July 11, 2013 at 6:48 pm

        Hair dye, polyfilla. that’s what I do.x

         
      • scottishmomus

        July 11, 2013 at 6:48 pm

        Hair dye, polyfilla. that’s what I do.x

         
      • scottishmomus

        July 11, 2013 at 6:48 pm

        Hair dye, polyfilla. that’s what I do.x

         
      • theforestscribe

        July 11, 2013 at 6:50 pm

        hehehe! nope I’m stubbornly letting the grey grow out, for now….sheesh I look bloody ancient!

         
      • scottishmomus

        July 11, 2013 at 6:52 pm

        New colour, new look, new woman. I quite like it. I might even give the grey a pop at some point!x

         
      • theforestscribe

        July 11, 2013 at 6:55 pm

        go for it mammascot!

         
      • scottishmomus

        July 11, 2013 at 6:56 pm

        And I’ll paint my face blue for good measure.x

         
      • scottishmomus

        July 11, 2013 at 6:56 pm

        And I’ll paint my face blue for good measure.x

         
      • theforestscribe

        July 12, 2013 at 6:59 am

        braveheart re-visited hehehe

         

Leave a Reply

 
dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Healing Your Heart!

A manual for the life within!

scottishmomus

What I See

And The Moon Sees All

Lisa Marino: A Mind Wide Open

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Fiction Writing Blog

Night Blogging

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

GlobalPatching

A fine WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

