RSS

Marry Me Maca!

21 Jul

macaMaca Powder – root herb scoffed by Incan warriors for strength,energy and endurance.

Maca Powder – root powder, recently scoffed by me – now feeling like an Incan warrior!

I know the rest of the planet has known about it for EVER, but it’s only recently that I discovered it and decided to give it a whirl. The last couple of months I’ve been taking strain. Exhausted and generally worn out I was desperate – sound familiar?

I started making smoothies. Goji berries, cinnamon, milk and whatever else I could think of. It filled me up after my morning walks, gave me some added energy, but nothing earth shattering.

Enter Maca – OMG! 1 teaspoon a day and I was Re – Bloody Born!

Seriously! You have to try this stuff!!!

It has so many benefits that I’m not going to attempt to mention them all here, that’s what Google’s for. In my smoothie however it has worked miracles. It’s a super food and in just a few days has bumped my energy levels through the roof. I had a hormonally – based cracker of a headache again the other day and took half a spoon of Maca in a small glass of milk. I could literally feel the headache melting away within minutes. Usually nothing less than gigantor pain tablets will work.

Because it helps to balance the endochrine system out it affects so many areas of the body and is thus far the best ‘super food’ I’ve ever come across.

Although I’ve only taken it for a few days, apparently it has a stronger effect the longer you take it. The only side effects I can find would be a little dehydration if you up your dose. So drink lots of water.

I’m hugely physically active so after my morning walk I make a smoothie with half a teaspoon and then again mid afternoon if I’m working a double.

By this stage of the month I’m usually in ‘Crazy Betty’ mode, hormones raging, exhaustion and headaches that give me blurred vision, but thus far – nada!

It’s also NOT like energy drinks that you can feel working. It’s just does. A few hours after taking it you look back and wonder how you got so much done without being tired.

My energy levels have never been coy. I am so busy, I literally drop like a log around 4pm, but in the last week I’ve been rocking. The other interesting discovery is that it somehow helps with ‘dead legs’. I face hills and stairs all day long and by the afternoon my legs are knackered. The second teaspoon sorts that out within about 5 minutes!

Maca has a lovely nutty taste and works a charm in smoothies.Apparently you can bomb it into fruit juices too, but I’m not keen on that route because it has a slightly bitter back taste – but you try it and decide what works for you.

For myself, I’m ready to throw aside my committment phobia and Marry my Maca, for life!

So all you tired, middle aged worker bees, grab yourselves a bag of the stuff now and get dancing!

Oh and for the boys: Apparently it brings your little man back to life – libido magic…..

Can’t ask for more than that!

 

 

 

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2013 in Strings of Sentences

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Marry Me Maca!

  1. Jesse

    September 11, 2014 at 2:30 am

    I just started reading up on this root. In my searches I came across this blog. I was just wondering where you buy the organic powder thanks Jesse

     
    • theforestscribe

      September 14, 2014 at 7:00 am

      local health shops always stock it. I started off making smoothies with it but it works even better on my morning weetbix – half a spoon only, it’s quite powerful!

       
  2. Johnny Ojanpera

    August 23, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    I got some of this after reading and some research. I got an organic capsule form. It really does help with energy; not like too much caffeine. I feel lighter. I haven’t noticed a change in libido really, as I am more than fine already, but the rest is great! Glad you shared. -J

     
    • theforestscribe

      August 25, 2013 at 7:21 pm

      hmmm, tried that with cinnamon, took capsules instead of the real stuff, not the same. Although the organic might do the trick, try and use the powder sometime too and see if there’s a diff. Always nervous of capsules cos we dont know what else they add in. But glad it’s working and happy your libido needs no help heehee!

       
      • Johnny Ojanpera

        August 25, 2013 at 7:25 pm

        You brought the libido thing up… The kind I got has an organic vegetable capsule, and no fillers; only thenthree different macas. Good stuff either way. Thanks!

         
      • theforestscribe

        August 25, 2013 at 7:30 pm

        ok brill that sounds like a good one, will check in with local health shop and see what they have, ta muchly

         

Leave a Reply

 
dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Healing Your Heart!

A manual for the life within!

scottishmomus

What I See

And The Moon Sees All

Lisa Marino: A Mind Wide Open

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Fiction Writing Blog

Night Blogging

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

GlobalPatching

A fine WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

