RSS

I’m from Where?

27 Nov
I'm from where.....?

I’m from where…..?

Today after many months of waiting for my unabridged birth certificate I finally received the sms to tell me it was ready.

The walk that takes 15 minutes felt like 15 hours, because somehow I knew.

I had taken a chance applying for it and putting my natural parents details on it. I had never been registered by my adoptive family, so it was worth at least trying. I didn’t really think it would work – and it didn’t.

I hadn’t lied, I had been honest all the way through this process. I had explained my adoption, showed them all the paperwork and told them that I had found my family and wanted to have my biological parents on the birth certificate.

It was not to be.

The brain is a funny machine. Knowing what would probably happen, I should have been prepared, but I wasn’t, I was gutted. Seeing the adoptive parents listed as my natural mother and father just about did my head in.

On the way there a crazy guy covered in blood accosted me begging for money. I was NOT in the mood and growled at him to back off.

He shouted furiously: ‘ You haven’t even looked at me, how would you like it if nobody looked at you!’

If one believes in Universal signs, that would be a clear indication that I was not going to be heard and my request would be denied.

Of course now the confusion has deepened further because the paperwork says my ‘natural’ mother was born in Holland…

So I’m Dutch now?

 
23 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2013 in Adoption Journey

 

Tags: , , , , ,

23 responses to “I’m from Where?

  1. Bianca Kaiser

    January 21, 2014 at 8:36 am

    wow, your journey has really been an interesting one. I hope you’ve come right with the papers by now, if not, i do hope you still get to go and meet up with your biological mother and the family.

     
  2. Christine Gallacher

    November 27, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    I am amazed by that I really am..Anyway there could be a lot worse than a Dutch passport..probably better than a British one in the long run…xx

     
  3. Christine Gallacher

    November 27, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    What Rubbish they are talking and what about the birth certificate of your Mum’s as the evidence and your adoption papers surely they count for something..Tell them from me they are wrong and if you need any documentation from this end Beth let me know…The British consulate is your next place and also if not DNA testing and that can be done by a very reputable testing group in this country who deal with all of these such cases.Yours apparently is not unique..

     
    • theforestscribe

      November 27, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      Its not question of blood legitimacy. I had all the correct documents to prove that I am/was a Gallacher – thats not the point. The point is that it doesnt matter. As to the consulate there is no person to person contact at all for any reason, you have to go onto the website! Adoption is a Permanent severing of ties. In the eyes of the law you guys dont even exist!

       
      • Christine Gallacher

        November 27, 2013 at 9:11 pm

        I wear Clogs a lot anyway so you are OK..actually Beth anyway if you get Dutch citizenship it won’t matter because we are all joined at the hip here anyway and can live anywhere within the European community and I would very seriously consider it..

         
      • theforestscribe

        November 28, 2013 at 1:58 pm

        it is definately a new twist to the plot, and also love clogs as long as they’re not wooden……hehehehehe!

         
  4. theforestscribe

    November 27, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    oh and susie D one other thing, my adoptive mother was dutch and her name has to appear so nothing I can do about it – perhaps I should apply for Dutch passport!

     
    • Christine Gallacher

      November 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm

      No Beth because you are her Daughter

       
  5. Susan Donald

    November 27, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Oh for fuck’s sake!!!!! So as in many South African things would it have been better lying????? Well your Mother wasn’t Dutch so that needs to be changed. Maybe get a letter written by anyone from Scotland saying it is your mum asking for name???? Why do these tossers make life more difficult???? xxxxxxx

     
    • theforestscribe

      November 27, 2013 at 6:39 pm

      Hey hon – Had to edit your comment cos you had your phone number and email attached, also took out mums name. As to the rest lying wouldnt have helped because the Brits are very hardcore about applying for citizenship. I could easily have lied my way through and just submitted forms to idiots at front counter but then if I had got into a UK citizenship and the Brits had found out I could have had passport revoked and been booted out of the country. As to the rest -adoption is permanent. When I come over next year I can’t even go on family visa, because by law you guys are not my family, and I cant apply for citizenship based on grandparents because well, legally, they are not MY grandparents. Getting mum to write a letter is also no good, because, by law, she is not my mum!!!!!!

       
      • Christine Gallacher

        November 27, 2013 at 7:07 pm

        Well why is your mum on your adoption papers..that is ridiculous you have got to push this a lot further…

         
      • theforestscribe

        November 27, 2013 at 7:18 pm

        Theres nothing I can do. They actually believe I am who I say I am, it just doesnt matter. You cant reverse adoption for an adult. Better buy myself some clogs…

         
  6. scottishmomus

    November 27, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Oh, this sucks. You’ve waited so long. And now another setback. How can they do this? So sorry you were disappointed.x

     
    • theforestscribe

      November 27, 2013 at 6:18 pm

      yep and I have just contacted mum for the first time a few days ago.

       
      • scottishmomus

        November 27, 2013 at 6:37 pm

        What does she say about it?x

         
      • theforestscribe

        November 27, 2013 at 6:41 pm

        Well it was my first letter so it was only an introduction. She is mentally ill and I cant really load this nightmare on her, especially considering that by law she is no longer my mum.

         
      • scottishmomus

        November 27, 2013 at 6:43 pm

        No, for sure, you can’t. Better to just get to know her and enjoy the process. I wish you well.x

         
      • theforestscribe

        November 27, 2013 at 6:46 pm

        Thanks hon! Will still hit Scotland next year to meet her and family and even ‘The Law’ cant stop me from loving and having a relationship with them!

         
      • scottishmomus

        November 27, 2013 at 6:48 pm

        So right. The law is truly an ass at times.x

         
      • theforestscribe

        November 27, 2013 at 6:49 pm

        It is indeed! oh well….

         

Leave a Reply

 
dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Healing Your Heart!

A manual for the life within!

scottishmomus

What I See

And The Moon Sees All

Lisa Marino: A Mind Wide Open

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Fiction Writing Blog

Night Blogging

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

GlobalPatching

A fine WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

