RSS

Less is More

16 Feb
Simplicity

Simplicity

I love to springclean – but this is radical, even for me.

I’ve always been a very energy-orientated mamma. When things are starting to stick, I begin to sort out, throw out and down size.

I’m mean as a weasel when faced with stuff that hasn’t seen the light of day for the last 6 months!

The start to 2014 was traumatic, frustrating, and positively feral on so many levels. It has been a good few years since so much went downhill so fast, and true to my manic ‘do-over’ nature, I began to simplify.

I sold furniture I’d hated for ever, rampaged through books, clothes, ornaments and other arb household stuff that hadn’t made itself useful.

Each ton of crap I threw out or gave away felt like another loadstone being removed from my neck – and it didn’t end there…

I attacked my internet world with a vengeance. All those subscriptions to ‘fabu’ places that were ‘just keeping me in touch with my world’ – gone, unsubscribed!

The TV that kept us prisoner and uncommunicado – adios!

All those weird people I didn’t really communicate with more than once in a decade – ciaou bella – you’re toast!

I’ve taken it further too. I have drawn to myself a few’ Dead Weight Charlies’ that should have had the boot years ago for their negative behaviour. They’ve been sent packing or confronted – ‘ flat out – no diplomacy required’.

I’ve even had a radical haircut and begun a long overdue schedule of exercise and pampering which I must say feels bloody awesome!

My final step – de-activating Arsebook!

Constant web babble – gone

Overcrowded home – gone.

Jerks – gone.

Hair – gone.

My life is quieter, calmer, more spacious and superbly simple. My phone is not constantly beeping and buzzing and distracting me with nonsense.

The energy is good and positive and flowing beautifully.

It took a while to restore, but it was so worth it.

I am finally breathing free in 2014 – and unexpected offshoots – my daughter is rocking at school and I’ve suddenly been making pots of money at the restaurant.

Ain’t life grand!

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2014 in Strings of Sentences

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Less is More

  1. Bianca Kaiser

    February 18, 2014 at 10:56 am

    That is wonderful, i too can feel your relief 🙂 i had a real spring clean myself the end of last year, but i moved to a new (very small place) but as I was moving, there and then i just chucked, even gave away things that were my favourite things, but i knew i didn’t have space for them. I gave a a lot to charity and people who were in more need of it than i was, and I felt and still feel like a brand new person…..big applause to you 🙂 and here’s to hoping for a absolutely wonderful, free 2014 to you

     
    • theforestscribe

      February 19, 2014 at 6:39 am

      Thanks muchly! its very invigorating to downsize, seems to open up all the good energy somehow.

       
  2. lorriebowden

    February 16, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Breathe in that wonderful feeling. You have made room for amazing possibilities to enter your life! Blessitude – Lorrie

     
  3. Mark Lanesbury

    February 16, 2014 at 9:33 am

    I can feel the relief from here. Now if I just had the same courage. I’d probably go overboard, sell up and end up living and writing in the Maldives or some such 🙂

     
    • theforestscribe

      February 16, 2014 at 9:40 am

      Hehehehehehe well when my youngest is grown that’s exactly what I’m planning-I’ll meet you there!

       

Leave a Reply

 
dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Butterfly Sand

Curiosity run amok . . .

Healing Your Heart!

A manual for the life within!

scottishmomus

What I See

And The Moon Sees All

Lisa Marino: A Mind Wide Open

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

ART FOR NOTHING

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Fiction Writing Blog

Night Blogging

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

GlobalPatching

A fine WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

